Ad Code



organs in the thoracic cavity

The bone structure around the chest is called the ribcage or thoracic cage to protect vital organs such as the heart and lungs.

The rib cage is made up of 12 pairs of ribs (bones). and connect to the sternum with the support of costal cartilage in front of the body. and it is attached to the upper part of the spine rib cage provides protection to the lungs and heart.

The first 7 ribs are connected to the sternum are called true ribs. The next 3 are common connective bones and the lowest 2 floating ribs. These last 5 ribs are also called false ribs.

The space between the 2 ribs is called the intercostal space. The cartilage that connects the ribs to the sternum is called the costal cartilage.

thoracic cavity contains organs 
  • lungs
  • bronchi
  • trachea
  • pleura
  • heart
  • pericardium
  • great vessels
  • lymphatics 
  • vagus nerve
  • sympathetic chain
  • the phrenic nerve
  • recurrent laryngeal nerve
  • thymus
  • esophagus.

organs are in the rib cage
Image by www_slon_pics from Pixabay 

parts of the thoracic cage

A thoracic cage is formed by the sternum and 12 pairs of ribs with their costal cartilages.
clavicular notch.

true ribs - from 1 to 7 (total 14) ribs are called true ribs.

false ribs - next ribs from 8, 9, and 10 are (common connective bones) called false ribs.

floating ribs - ribs from 11, and 12 are not connected to the sternum, called floating ribs. 

parts of Sternum

  • clavicular articulation
  • jugular notch
  • the sternal angle at ribs no 2
  • body
  • xiphoid process.

Post a Comment


Ad Code